Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

What is 3D printing?

Only recently, the prestigious international newspaper "The Economist" described 3D printing as "a third industrial revolution". 3D printing is the process of printing out three-dimensional objects. Instead of the traditional processes used to mould, press, bend or cut products, 3D printing is a new technology that is expected to revolutionise our world as we know it. This new type of printer is capable of printing an extremely wide range of 3D objects. In the printhead, suitable materials such as ABS plastic are melted and the desired three-dimensional object is printed layer by layer. It is anticipated that entire national economies, industrial sectors and our way of life will be fundamentally changed by this innovative 3D printing technology.

Applications

Using 3D printers can help you to save a considerable amount of time and money. What's more, these devices allow you to create your own unique objects. 3D printers are used by companies that need to create designs and want to save time when constructing models. Such companies include those involved in medical science, architecture, and fashion and design, as well as those in the entertainment, gaming and film industries; users even include end consumers. 3D printers offer the capability of using digital data to create objects in a variety of colours and shapes. Artists and hobbyists also use them to allow their creations to take shape in a relatively short amount of time. From simple plastic cups, plates or puzzles to complex shapes — all manner of objects can be printed with great precision. You can print pieces of jewellery, finally replace that broken TV stand or make a mobile phone case based on your own design. These are just a few examples — in reality, the possibilities are endless.

3D printers

3D printers can print an extremely wide range of 3D objects. In the printhead, suitable materials such as ABS plastic are melted and the desired three-dimensional object is printed layer by layer. 3D printers use digital "constructional drawings" (computer files) as a basis for creating models and objects that are accurate down to the very last detail. Everything is perfectly dimensioned and customised — exactly as required. This is where 3D printers pick up where conventional inkjet and laser printers have left off — they give shape to your own designs. Depending on the printheads installed in the 3D printer, a design can be printed in a variety of colours at the same time. If using a single printhead, a 3D printer can print only one colour. If you wish to print your design in more than one colour, the filament needs to be replaced with the desired colour. If your 3D printer is equipped with two printheads, a 3D model can be printed in two colours — without having to change the filament first.

The filament

Just like a conventional printer, a 3D printer requires a consumable material. However, where an inkjet printer uses ink cartridges, a 3D printer uses filaments. All sorts of filaments are available in a range of sizes and colours.

The most commonly used materials for filaments are plastics (PLA and ABS) and wood. PLA (polylactide) is a plastic made from natural materials such as sugar. Due to its composition, PLA is a biological material that is, to a certain extent, better for the environment than alternative products. This plastic also gives off a sweet fragrance during printing — which is more pleasant than the smell of burnt plastic. PLA is a practical material that can be printed at a lower temperature than an ABS filament. It is very well suited for producing fine details and decorative prints. ABS (acrylonitrile butadiene styrene) is made from petroleum products and is therefore not as environmentally friendly as PLA. ABS has a higher melting point and requires a stable base — without which the material would become wavy or collapse altogether. Accordingly, ABS is much stronger and harder than PLA plastic. These properties mean that ABS is suitable for applications such as musical instruments and LEGO bricks, for example.

In terms of dimensions, the difference between filaments is considerable, with diameters of 1.75 mm and 3 mm available. Which one you choose depends on your printer and your preferences. However, the trend is towards the 1.75-mm filament becoming standard.

Software & downloads

Using 3D software, you are able to create your own 3D print files, which is necessary if you wish to print out your own creations. Various drives and instructions for PP3DP printers can be downloaded for free at www.pp3dp.com. As you would expect, Internet services are also available and existing 3D designs are free to download. An online database containing more than 100,000 3D designs is available for you to use at www.thingiverse.com. The creative possibilities are virtually limitless!

Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Was ist 3D-drucken?

Der 3D-Druck wurde erst vor kurzem von der renommierten und internationalen Zeitschrift "The Economist" als "dritte industrielle Revolution" bezeichnet. Der 3D-Druck steht für das dreidimensionale Ausdrucken von Objekten. Anstelle traditioneller Verfahren, Produkte zu gießen, pressen, biegen oder schneiden, ist der 3D-Druck eine neue Technik, von der erwartet wird, dass sie unsere Welt revolutionär verändert. Dieser neue Drucker kann die unterschiedlichsten 3D-Objekte drucken. Geeignete Materialien, wie zum Beispiel ABS Plastik, werden in dem Druckkopf verflüssigt und das gewünschte dreidimensionale Objekt Lage für Lage gedruckt. Die Erwartung ist, dass sich ganze Volkswirtschaften, Branchen und unsere Lebensweise durch die Innovation des 3D-Drucks grundlegend verändern werden.

Anwendungen

Die Benutzung von 3D-Druckern kann Ihnen helfen viel Geld und Zeit zu sparen. Des Weiteren sind Sie in der Lage eigene und einzigartige Objekte zu kreieren. Der 3D-Drucker wird in Betrieben genutzt die Konzepte brauchen und beim Erstellen von Modellen Zeit sparen wollen. Dazu gehören: Medizinwissenschaft, Architektur, Mode und Design, aber auch die Entertainment-, Spiele- und Filmindustrie, bis hin zu den Verbrauchern. 3D-Drucker bieten die Möglichkeit, aus digitalen Dateien, Objekte in verschiedenen Farben und Formen zu erstellen. Auch Künstler und Hobbyisten benutzten diese, um ihre Kreationen in einem relativ kurzem Zeitraum eine feste Form zu geben. Von simplen Plastikbechern, Tellern und Puzzeln, bis hin zu komplexen Formen mit großer Präzision. Sie können Schmuckstücke drucken, endlich die gebrochene Klappe vom TV ersetzen oder eine selbstentworfene Handyhülle herstellen. Dies sind nur einige Beispiele. Die Möglichkeiten sind unerschöpflich.

3D-Drucker

3D-Drucker können die unterschiedlichsten 3D-Objekte drucken. Geeignete Materialien, wie zum Beispiel ABS Plastik, werden im Druckkopf verflüssigt und das gewünschte dreidimensionale Objekt Lage für Lage gedruckt. Der 3D-Drucker macht auf Basis von digitalen "Bauzeichnungen" (Computerdateien) detailgetreue Modelle/Objekte. Alles perfekt auf Maß und angepasst, so wie Sie es möchten. Damit fängt ein 3D-Drucker an, wo ein gewöhnlicher Tintenstrahl- oder Laserdrucker aufhört - Ihren eigenen Entwürfen eine Form zu geben. Abhängig von den Druckköpfen, die ein 3D-Drucker hat, kann ein Entwurf in verschiedenen Farben gleichzeitig gedruckt werden. So kann ein 3D-Drucker mit einem einzelnen Druckkopf nur eine Farbe drucken. Möchten Sie Ihren Entwurf in mehreren Farben drucken, wird das Filament durch die gewünschte Farbe ersetzt. Hat Ihr 3D-Drucker zwei Druckköpfe, wird ein 3D-Model zweifarbig gedruckt, ohne das Filament zu wechseln.

Filament

Genau wie ein normaler Drucker braucht auch ein 3D-Drucker Verbrauchs-Material. Da wo ein Inkjektdrucker Tintenpatronen benutzt, braucht ein 3D-Drucker Filamente. Filamente sind in allerlei Sorten, Maßen und Farben erhältlich.

Die meist genutzten Materialien für Filamente sind Kunststoffe (PLA und ABS) und Holz. PLA (Polylactide) ist ein Kunststoff, welcher aus natürlichen Stoffen wie Zucker hergestellt wird. Er ist dadurch ein biologischer Werkstoff, der ein Stück weit umweltfreundlicher ist als Alternativprodukte. Auch gibt dieser Kunststoff während des Druckens einen süßlicheren Duft ab, dieser ist nicht so unangenehm, wie der Geruch von verbranntem Plastik. PLA ist ein praktisches Material, das bei einer niedrigeren Temperatur als ein Filament aus ABS gedruckt werden kann. Es ist sehr gut geeignet für feine Details und dekorative Drucke. ABS (Acrylnitril-Butadien-Styrol) wird aus Erdöl-Produkten hergestellt und ist daher weniger umweltfreundlich als PLA. ABS hat einen höheren Schmelzpunkt und muss auf einem stabilen Untergrund liegen. Ohne diesen wellt sich das Material oder fällt zusammen. ABS ist dementsprechend viel stärker und härter als PLA Plastik. Durch diese Eigenschaft wird es unter anderem für z.B. Musikinstrumente oder LEGO-Bausteine verwendet.

Bei den Abmessungen ist vor allem der Unterschied zwischen den Filamenten mit einem Diameter von 1,75 mm und 3 mm nennenswert. Die Wahl ist abhängig vom Ihrem Drucker und Ihrer Vorliebe. Der Trend geht jedoch dahin, dass das 1,75 mm Filament Standard wird.

Software & Downloads

Mit einer 3D-Software können Sie eigene 3D-Druckdateien erstellen. Diese werden benötigt um Eigenkreationen drucken zu können. Diverse Treiber und Anleitungen für den PP3DP Drucker können Sie gratis unter www.pp3dp.com herunterladen. Natürlich können Sie auch Internetdienste nutzen und gratis bestehende 3D-Skizzen herunterladen. Eine Online-Datenbank mit mehr als 100.000 3D-Skizzen steht Ihnen unter www.thingiverse.com zur Verfügung. Ihre kreativen Möglichkeiten sind praktisch unbegrenzt!